Rachel Rothstein – Photographer

It is rare that to have an intellectually stimulating conversation over a batch of homemade chocolate chip cookie dough but recently I was pleased to have one with my friend & amateur photographer Rachel Rothstein. I have always admired her artistic eye and refined photography skills. As she mixed the batter she started to tell me about her personal experiences and views about her passionate hobby Unfortunately I can’t share the cookies but I can share the candid and clear ideas Rachel shared.

What is your photography background and what are your tools?

I am a Cincinnati-based event photographer. I have a range of experience with shooting people, events, portraits, sports and special occasions. I am an intuitive person and have a good sense for peoples’ emotions, which I think lends heavily to being a good photographer and capturing peoples’ happiest moments. I shoot with a Nikon D90.

What do you look for before you finally snap?

I always look for the right moment before snapping; for a genuine smile, a deep-hearted laugh, a real moment because those are what inspire me to keep snapping and those are the moments that I think people really enjoy seeing because they get to relive that happy moment, every time they see the photo.

Many people say they feel more comfortable hiding behind the camera than in front on it, is that true for you?

I don’t know if I “hide” behind the camera, but I certainly have more fun being behind it! I am a lot more comfortable taking photos than being the subject of photos. I’m picky about lighting and am rarely happy with how photos of myself come out.

Do you find the urban environment affects your work?

The environment is always a factor in my photography and whatever the current weather conditions or lighting set-up may be, I always try to make the best out of it. I love urban landscapes, especially bridges because architecturally, they fascinate me. I try to use my surroundings in my shots. Even if they’re not visible in every shot, they are still influencing the shadows and the lighting and the mood of my subject.

What lessons have your learned from working the PR angle of film?

Being a PR & Advertising Coordinator, and having shot numerous events, I’d say the main thing I’ve learned is to not let the people who I am shooting command the photo. I think there is a happy medium between using feedback and determining how you want to take a photo. I have to work hard to remind myself of that balance so that I can keep the special qualities of my subjects in the forefront while I’m shooting.

Do you consider social photography more of as art or a knack?

All forms of photography are art. Some are more emotional, some are more commercial, and some are more personal, but it’s about how you apply your passion, knowledge and skills to each of subject that ensures how well the photograph retains the passion that inspired the photograph.

This past year you added wedding photography to your portfolio, how did that experience differ from your previous experience?

I had so much fun shooting the wedding I shot this past May! It was a wedding of two people I had met through work and their love for each other was inspiring. I never thought I would enjoy wedding photography, but capturing people’s happiest moments is what keeps photography at the forefront of my passions.

Lastly, Do you have any future plans to pursue photography more seriously?

As for my future plans, I’m just going with the flow. Photography is hobby and is fun and as long as I can keep it fun and light, I’ll be happy. I spent a lot of time thinking about the line between a hobby and a career, and right now, I’m ok with teetering on that line. Until something pushes me one way or the other, I’m happy with being on the border.

To see more of Rachel’s Unique photography check out her website : http://rachelrothstein.tumblr.com/

Leave a comment